Murray Valley Cricket Association premier division wrap round six

By Tyler Maher

The old cricketing adage of winning the toss and batting first to give yourself the best chance of victory rung true in the Murray Valley Cricket Association on Saturday.

Premier Division matches on Saturday were all won by the outfit that batted first after watching the coin fall in their favour ahead of play.

Katamatite posted the largest total across the round six clashes, thanks largely to big-hitter Ash Saunders.

Saunders set up his side for victory - as well as highlighted his Goulburn Valley Bush Bash League draft credentials - with a dominant 121 not out from just 85 deliveries.

Coming in at 2-68 after a solid start from the top order Tigers, Saunders cracked 17 boundaries - including eight mammoth maximums - to steer the visitors at Barooga Recreation Reserve to 6-271.

The Hawks made a solid fist of the chase - at one stage reaching 1-132 - but a collapse of 5-26 was too much for the lower order to recover from.

Jamie Stanyer (47), Matt Jaensch (44 not out), Riley Gow (38) and Sam Leigh (30) all batted well for the home side, but Katamatite's bowling attack was able to back up their batsmen superbly.

Sam Dorsey claimed four of the wickets that fell in Barooga's collapse among his 5-27, with Ben Lukies snaring 2-25.

Earlier, Jake Poole and Saranjit Kalsi had claimed a pair of wickets apiece for the Hawks, while Dorsey (39) and Jamie Magowan (37) supported Saunders well with the bat.

A 99-run partnership between Brad Todd and Andrew Hogan set up an important victory for Deniliquin at the Nathalia Showgrounds.

Todd (86) and Hogan (76 not out) did the bulk of the scoring for the Rhinos in a total of 6-221, with Henry Congues (3-25) doing plenty of damage with ball in hand for the Purples.

Ash and Luke Quinn opened the batting together in an attempt to set a platform for Nathalia's chase and did just that with a partnership of 97.

Following the departure of Luke (38) and then Ash (65), the Rhinos were able to get on top once more in the contest though, running through Nathalia's batting line-up to have them all out for 170.

Ben Irwin (5-22) was the star for Deniliquin, while Todd and Brodie Bennett each took two wickets.

Cobram also had a big win, posting 8-258 before restricting Cobram-Yarroweyah United to 6-183.

Ayden Latessa (3-41), Kane Goldsworthy (86) and Daniel Brock (58) battled hard for the combine in the defeat.